I SPY Game

A word is a combination of different sounds: the beginning sounds, middle sounds and the ending sounds.

Start with middle sounds and when you are introducing middle sounds use 3 letter words. Then comes the beginning and ending sounds.

SUBJECT:

Language

TOPIC:

‘I Spy’ Game

AGE GROUP:

3 ½ years and onwards

MATERIAL:

A basket having several objects from the environment.

DIRECT AIMS:

Direct aims of ‘I Spy Game’ are:

  1. Perfection of sounds and words.
  2. Enhancement of vocabulary and preposition.
  3. Development of pre-reading exercises

INDIRECT AIMS:

Indirect aims include:

  1. Development of imagination power.

POINT OF INTEREST:

 The activity itself and all the colorful objects catch the interest of the children

PRESENTATION TIPS:

‘I spy games’ include several games in the following sequence:

1st Game

  1. Give different objects to every child and all those objects should have objects beginning with different sounds.
  2. Then ask the children, “I Spy with my little eyes, something is in ______ (student’s name), beginning with ____ (sound).
  3. The children will say the name of that object.
  4. Likewise repeat this for the others.

2nd Game

  1. Put the objects in different places like under, behind, on or in something.
  2. Then ask, “ I spy with my little eyes, something is ____ (preposition) the ____ (object name) beginning with _____ (sound). For example, I spy with my little eyes, something is under the chair beginning with c.
  3. Likewise repeat with the rest of the objects.

3rd Game

  1. Place the things in the class room at different places.
  2. Say, “I spy with my little eyes, something which begins with ___ (sound, letter), e.g. f

img_20170105_211653

Leave a Reply

